Skip to content

Clarification, please?

September 9, 2010

Well the summer is over and a new school year, and a provincial election, are upon us, so I suppose I had better start reading the newspaper more regularly again. With this resolution firmly between my teeth what do I find today but Shawn Graham being quoted as asserting that “post-secondary education has now been reformed to meet students’ needs.” Now, okay, I have been preoccupied with other things for awhile but I haven’t been that out of the loop, surely. But just in case, let’s check:

  • Four years of threats and insecurity have weakened public trust that education is supported in NB, and that trust still needs to be rebuilt.
  • Despite endless rhetoric about students being the first priority, youth in NB have become used to the rug being pulled out from under their feet, from K-12 and beyond. Meanwhile, tuition at NB universities remains among the highest in Canada.
  • Faculty/management relations are arguably worse than they were four years ago, in no small measure due to partisan pressures on university administrations.
  • Most importantly, NB still has practically the lowest per-capita spending per student in the country. Everything else is window-dressing: adequate and secure ongoing funding is the only thing that will enable the NB PSE system to improve.

On the other hand, there are some new buildings.

But no, I really can’t see much evidence of effective reforms. Rather, I see a PSE system, historically under-resourced to begin with, still reeling from a series of body blows.

On the bright side, as Graham clearly has already placed a check-mark beside “PSE” on the “To-do” list in his mind, perhaps that means we will be spared any further “reforms.”

2 Comments
  1. Mare permalink
    October 3, 2010 8:31 pm

    They didn’t do K-12 education any favours either. In fact, it enraged me to see them even referring to education as a high point of their reign of terror. I mean, time in office.

  2. October 4, 2010 12:06 am

    Oh, I agree. Mind you, protesting against the closure of the university campuses, the elimination of early French immersion and the sale of NB power provided my child with a valuable education of another sort.

Comments are closed.

