Skip to content

From the “Cheers and Jeers” section

December 22, 2008

in The Telegram (St. John’s):

Cheers: to duelling quotes. Justice Minister Tom Marshall, speaking in a House of Assembly debate on Memorial University autonomy: “I heard or I read, I believe it was Prof. Paul Wilson at Sir Wilfred Grenfell College in Corner Brook, I read it in an article I think he wrote – I don’t know who made the original statement – he said that a university can change a life, a university could change a town, a university could change a country. I believe that.” A government, though, can change a university. Here’s that same Prof. Paul Wilson, on Marshall’s own government dismissing four members of MUN’s Board of Regents: “It sends a very troublesome signal. … There is no one I have spoken to about this that can condone the action on the part of the minister of education.” Marshall won’t be quoting that in the House, we wager.

Comments are closed.

