Skip to content

On diploma mills

August 15, 2008

I am going to give away one of the tricks of the (blogging) trade: Google News lets you set alerts, so that you are sent an email whenever a story comes up on the topic in which you are interested. As you may imagine, for an operation as extensive as this one, I myself have two or three of these alerts set up, and recently, in light of the various stories about Apollo and Meritus, I set up alerts for “online university” and “diploma mill.” Well, I may have to turn the latter one off! My inbox has been flooded with story after story about this or that sleazy enterprise, and these are only the ones that get caught and make the news. One really has to wonder what else is going on out there, under the radar.

But enough about my sacrifices.

Links: For $199, get a diploma, suitable for framing.

One Comment
  1. September 16, 2008 10:20 am

    Oh yeah – it’s crazy. I think I add at least five new ‘diploma mills’ to the list each week. God only knows how many actually exist.

    I think the latest emerging trend is online law schools – Something the ABA will never sign off on.

Comments are closed.

