Skip to content

Linda Hansen

November 8, 2007

just dropped me a note:

I saw your quote from Michelle Hooten and it reminded me of the famous poem, with which I would take a few liberties:

When they came for the liberal arts,
I remained silent;
I was not a philosopher, nor a classicist, nor a historian.

When they stifled the researchers,
I remained silent;
I was not a researcher.

When they came for the librarians,
I did not speak out;
I was not a librarian.

When they came for UNBSJ,
I remained silent;
I wasn’t a Saint Johner.

When they came for me,
there was no one left to speak out.

Or, more evocatively:

“Madame Guillotine” by the Legendary Pink Dots:

First they rounded up the reds
But I’m not red so…
Then they rounded up the blacks
But I’m not black so…
Then they rounded up the gypsies
And the junkies and the donkeys.
Now I’m scared to whistle ‘swanee’
‘Cause they’ll ask me for my spit…

Comments are closed.

